The Association’s Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series annually awards scholarships to students studying in mechanical contracting and engineering fields

OTTAWA, October 5, 2021 – The Mechanical Contractors Association of Canada (MCAC) was pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series, which saw more than $17,000 awarded to deserving students in the mechanical contracting and mechanical engineering fields.

“At MCA Canada, we know how important it is to support the next generations of leaders and employees for this important industry,” said Tania Johnston, Chief Executive Officer of the Mechanical Contractors Association of Canada. “Once again this year we received a record number of applicants for this great program. We are so proud to offer these scholarships across Canada, and extremely grateful for the firms who have stepped up to provide support.”

The Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series, named in honour of past-CEO Richard McKeagan, is supported by MCAC Associate Members and MCA partners from across Canada who provide the funding for the program and the various scholarships offered. Since its launch in 2006, the scholarship series has awarded close to $70,000 to deserving post-secondary students.

The program is aimed at students in the mechanical field of study and has been broadened to include several new initiatives, including scholarships specifically for women in the mechanical field. This is in addition to the several scholarships available for financial assistance in the mechanical field of study.

This year, scholarships were available through the following MCAC Associate Members and MCA partners: Bradford White Canada, Federated Insurance, Masco/Delta, MCA Hamilton-Niagara, OS&B, Reliance Worldwide, Uponor, the Women in Mechanical Construction Initiative, and the broader Associate Membership of MCA Canada, which funds a single MCAC Associate Member Scholarship.

“The support for this scholarship program demonstrates the commitment of our industry to the next generation,” Johnston added. “As our industry continues to evolve, these students will bring the knowledge and expertise to ensure our industry remains as innovative as possible to meet the challenges of the future.”

The following students received scholarship funding through the Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series in 2021:

  • Bradford White Canada – Natalie Sa’adeh
  • Federated Insurance – Nathalie Sa’adeh
  • MASCO Canada– Mina Ariana
  • MCAC Associates Council
    • Thomas MacDonald
  • Mechanical Contractors Association – Hamilton/Niagara
    • Mina Ariana
  • OS&B (Bob Evans Memorial Scholarship)
    • Jill Staag
  • Reliance Worldwide Corporation (RWC) – Mina Ariana
  • Uponor (Dan Kirkpatrick Scholarship)
    • Mina Ariana
    • Madison Button
    • Nathalie Sa’adeh
    • Nicole Sa’adeh
    • Jill Staag
  • Women in Mechanical Construction
    • Jill Staag

More information about the Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series can be found online at

About MCA Canada

The Mechanical Contractors Association of Canada is a national non-profit association comprised of dedicated professionals working together for the promotion, improvement, and advancement of the mechanical contracting industry. As well as mechanical contractors, MCAC welcomes service and repair contractors, manufacturers, wholesale distributors, and other construction industry related organizations.